A woman, a destiny, a Europe

By | Monday March 8th, 2021

On this day of 8 March, SAVE EUROPE, as usual, wishes to acknowledge all women of the planet. This day is dedicated to them and is an opportunity to alert people and their leaders to the fight for women’s rights and the reduction of inequalities with regard to men. For beyond the systemic obstacles that persist in hindering the principle of equality between men and women in society, the Covid¬19 pandemic has also highlighted new difficulties where women around the world are now more vulnerable than ever.

Indeed, the COVID-19 pandemic imposed its own health rules, with repeated periods of confinement and curfew. However, we now know that these successive confinements aggravate the plight of the victims of domestic and intra-family violence. An addition to the sometimes deadly physical violence, is the increasingly dramatic psychological impact of these multiple lockdowns (withdrawal into oneself with the risk of subsequent isolation, fear of looking at others, and even depression). According to the United Nations, one in three women in the world endures physical or sexual violence at some point in her life.

 

At the same time, however, the crisis has highlighted both the paramount importance of women’s contribution and the disproportionate burden they bear: Although they represent the majority of frontline workers in the face of the pandemic, as health workers, caregivers and supporters of their families and communities, the specific situation of women is far from being adequately addressed as it should be.

In this context, there is an urgent need to integrate women’s perspectives, in all their diversity, in the formulation of policies, as well as in the implementation, at all stages, of the response and recovery plans that are put in place to deal with the pandemic.

Feminist organisations continue to make history, together and strong in the face of the weight of prejudice, such as the struggle in Argentina for more than 20 years, which has just succeeded, after a historic vote, on a law to legalise abortion that now takes on board the requirement of Argentinian activists: “safe, legal and henceforth free abortion is the law”.

 

SAVE EUROPE will continue to provide unwavering support to women in order to eradicate all forms of discrimination against women and to ensure that the rights of women and men are finally equal.

Let us all work for a world where respect and recognition for women are part of the collective conscience.

SAVE EUROPE recommends also the following links:

SAVE EUROPE dedicates this song by the talented French slammer Grand Corps Malade to all women: click here

Une femme, un destin, une Europe

de | lundi 8 mars 2021

En ce jour du 8 mars, SAVE EUROPE comme à son habitude, souhaite mettre à l’honneur toutes les femmes de la planète. Cette journée qui leur est dédicacée permet d’alerter les populations et leurs dirigeants sur la lutte pour les droits des femmes et la réduction des inégalités vis-à-vis des hommes. Car au-delà des obstacles systémiques qui persistent à entraver le principe d’égalité entre les hommes et les femmes dans nos sociétés, la pandémie de Covid­19 a mis également en exergue de nouvelles difficultés où partout dans le monde, les femmes sont maintenant confrontées à une plus grande vulnérabilité.

 

En effet, la pandémie de COVID-19 a imposé ses règles sanitaires, avec des périodes de confinement et de couvre-feu à répétition. Or, nous savons désormais que ces confinements successifs aggravent la situation des victimes de violences conjugales et intrafamiliales. Aux violences physiques, parfois meurtrières, s’ajoute l’impact psychologique, de plus en plus dramatique, de ces multiples confinements (repli sur soi avec risque d’isolement, peur du regard des autres, et même la dépression). Et selon les Nations unies, une femme sur trois dans le monde subit des actes de violence physique ou sexuelle à un moment donné dans sa vie.

Mais en même temps, la crise a mis en évidence tout à la fois l’importance primordiale de la contribution des femmes, et le fardeau disproportionné qu’elles portent : bien qu’elles représentent la majorité des travailleurs de première ligne face à la pandémie, en tant que professionnelles de santé, pourvoyeuses de soins, soutien de leur famille et de leur communauté, la situation spécifique des femmes n’est pas, loin s’en faut, prise en compte comme il le faudrait.

Dans ce contexte, il est urgent d’intégrer les perspectives des femmes, dans toute leur diversité, dans la formulation des politiques, ainsi que dans la mise en œuvre, à tous les stades, des plans de lutte et de relance mis en place pour faire face à la pandémie.

Les organisations féministes continuent de faire l’histoire, ensemble et fortes face au poids des préjugés, comme le combat mené en Argentine depuis plus de 20 ans, qui vient d’aboutir, après un vote historique, sur une loi de légalisation de l’avortement qui reprend désormais à son compte l’exigence des militantes argentines :« l’avortement sûr, légal et désormais libre, fait loi ».

SAVE EUROPE continuera à apporter son soutien indéfectible aux femmes afin d’éradiquer toute forme de discrimination à l’égard des femmes et pour que les droits des Femmes et ceux des Hommes soient enfin égalitaires.

Œuvrons tous ensemble pour un monde où le respect et la reconnaissance des femmes s’inscrivent dans la conscience collective.

 

Save Europe recommande aussi les liens suivants :

SAVE EUROPE dédie cette chanson du talentueux slameur français Grand Corps Malade à toutes les femmes. Cliquer ici